Puerto Vallarta

Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta

Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Review Resorts

Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta

Blvd. Nuevo Vallarta y Paseo Cocoteros S/N
Nuevo Vallarta, Nayarit 63732 MX
Phone: +1-52-322-226-8200
www.GoMarival.com

Rating: 4+ Star
Rooms: 495
Floors: 9
Restaurants: 6
Category: All-Inclusive Resort
Pools: 4
Fitness Center: Yes
Day Spa: Yes

Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta

Marival Resort Reviews

The Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta is the largest All-Inclusive resort in Nuevo Vallarta, with 11 Mediterranean villas and two five-story towers. This extensive beachfront property offers a total of 495 air-conditioned units, with either garden, pool or ocean views.

The Marival Resort is situated on a 900 foot stretch of clean, safe beach. Guests can enjoy a wide array of beach and water sports, including volleyball, windsurfing, snorkeling, use of boogie boards, kayaks, Hobie cats and inner-tubes. There’s plenty to do whether lounging in the sun, swimming in the pool or visiting the great restaurants, shopping and sights of Puerto Vallarta.


Facilities:
495 Rooms most with balcony, but not guaranteed, 4 Large Pools with oversized jacuzzi, Swim-up bar, Poolside lounge, towel service, 6 Restaurants, Bars, Snack bar, 4 lighted tennis courts, Shops, Activities program. The Marival Resort also has a full Fitness Center and Spa, available for additional charge.

Stayed at Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta?

Post a Review

Traveler Review of: Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta
From: Surrey, B.C., Canada
Overall Rating: 5
Dining at Resort: 5
Sleeping Room: 5
Pool Area: 5
Beach Area: 5
Friendly Staff: 5
Remarks:
"My husband and I just returned from our vacation at the Marival. We were there for 10 days and as always thoroughly enjoyed our time away. The Mai Tai Bar with the best hostess ever, Miss Vanessa and waitress Jacky and Gerry!! Never go empty handed or lacking for food from the amazing kitchen there. Also need to mention Ricardo in Los Palmos, a fabulous waiter and great entertainer!!! Love his special coffees. Also a big thank you to Maria for helping with all the other details!! We will be back!" – Jayne from Surrey, B.C., Canada

Traveler Review of: Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Overall Rating: 2
Dining at Resort: 3
Sleeping Room: 1
Pool Area: 4
Beach Area: 2
Friendly Staff: 4
Marival-Resort-10
Remarks:
"I’m at the resort right now. At first it was good until my sister woke up with a little bug beside her, we put it in a little plastic bag and I looked up bed bugs and I think it is one. We’re bringing it down to the front desk tomorrow. I either have bed bug bites or no see em bites all over me. :(   This is terrible. I just want to go home. The pools are really nice though and there is a really good snack bar with lot’s of food. I’m too scared to go on the beach because there’s little crabs that hurt your toes and worst of all there’s scorpions that run around in the sand and sting you. My mom went to the 90 minute time-share thing and they made her bring two credit cards or we didn’t get the discounted excursion which is weird. Also when she asked to see some paperwork about the time-share they told her no and to get out. I’m laying on top off my bed at the resort right now and I’m scared and miserable." – Olivis from Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Traveler Review of: Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta
From: Chicago, Illinois
Overall Rating: 2
Dining at Resort: 3
Sleeping Room: 3
Pool Area: 3
Beach Area: 5
Friendly Staff: 1
Remarks:
"The problem with this property and its sister property is the sales manager and sales staff. Their rude, threatening, insulting behavior overshadows all of the positives of the resort itself. We have stayed there every year for the last 10 yrs. Things went to down the sewer about 6 years ago when the big boss sales mgr (who is not Mexican) took over and we were foolish enough to buy into their vacation club. All of our account info from there was “hacked” (according to said sales boss) and we were harassed by email and practically extorted. Repeated emails/correspondence to their “customer care for Gold members” did nothing. No one cared and told us to just ignore the hacking criminals as it happens all the time and the threats were never carried out.They coped the hackers on their reply so then the hackers threatened our family’s lives. Again no one at Marival cared. We were there on vacation last week and personally told the sales mgr and he refused to listen, chest bumped my husband in a threatening manner and called security to take us out of the sales area so other suckers couldn’t hear our complaints. Then he came looking for us and ordered us to his boss office-the BIG sales boss at the threat of our kids and us being ejected from the hotel with no refund. The boss who is not Mexican btw then proceeded to insult me and my husband and threatened to “have 5 Mexicans take my husband outside and have us ejected from the hotel”.. This was on Easter Sunday! Then the little sales mgr totally twisted the facts and said my husband threatened him and they could also call the policia on him. We were also threatened not to leave the room or our membership would be terminated with no refunds. When I said I would call the American Embassy for help the big non-Hispanic boss laughed and said we had no rights and no power in MX so go ahead and kick and scream. He also told us to keep our mouths shut and tell no other guests. Despite my sobbing this man had no empathy and was literally the meanest person I have ever met. He told my husband who is 52 that he wished he could meet up with him in a different place this boss was in his 30s. Big man. If we could get all the money we have paid into this membership back we would in a heartbeat but once you buy in you are screwed. I never want to back there but what can we do lose all the $$$$$ we’ve paid in??? BEWARE: Stayed April 2014, traveled with family." – Tina from Chicago, Illinois

Traveler Review of: Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta
From: Memphis, Tennessee
Overall Rating: 4
Dining at Resort: 5
Sleeping Room: 4
Pool Area: 5
Beach Area: 5
Friendly Staff: 5
Remarks:
"Looking to return same time next year. My husband and I simply enjoyed it along with our other World Ventures members. Thanks to Judith and Pedro, we were absolutely taken care of." – Sheena from Memphis, Tennessee

Traveler Review of: Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta
From: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Overall Rating: 4
Dining at Resort: 3
Sleeping Room: 3
Pool Area: 4
Beach Area: 4
Friendly Staff: 3
Remarks:
"Las Palomas (Mexican) restaurant – very good! – The nightly shows feature great dancers. Sometimes cheesy, but very fun. What were your least favorite things about this hotel? Constant time-share selling tactics. Watered-down, sugary drinks at the pools. It is further out from Puerto Vallarta and the Malacon, about $13 taxi ride to the airport and $18 to town.

Great beach area in addition to the pools. The pools are nice, food is decent, rooms are clean and comfortable (though nothing fancy) but I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely not stay here again. Right from when you check in, they start pushing the Time-Share on you. The person who shows you the hotel map, gives you the all-inclusive bracelet, etc., tries to sell you on a time-share presentation. Even if you say you aren’t interested, they offer you free massages, say “its only 90 minutes and well do it during your breakfast and you have to eat anyway” various guilt trips, etc. If you say no, for the duration of your trip, you will receive flyers under your door, and whenever passing through the main lobby or high-traffic areas, they will try to pressure you again. After finally giving in, the session took 3-hours instead of the promised 1.5-hours. It was very high-pressure sales and impossible to leave. They pass you from one person to the next, each time promising it’s the last person you’ll talk to. I mentioned to one employee that I would be giving a bad review and he said, “But the timeshare staff isn’t the hotel staff. That isn’t fair.” That may be true, but the time-share staff is everywhere, permeating your entire hotel experience. I came on vacation to be relaxed and have fun, not to be annoyed and guilt-tripped." – Karen from PMilwaukee, Wisconsin

Traveler Review of: Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta
From: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Overall Rating: 4
Dining at Resort: 4
Sleeping Room: 5
Pool Area: 5
Beach Area: 3
Friendly Staff: 5
Remarks:
"The resort is beautiful, the staff are very helpful, the food is great and the rooms/ residences are comfortable. We enjoyed the activities provided by the Marival Residences. Would definitely recommend staying there for couples, families or if your vacationing by yourself." – Anton from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Traveler Review of: Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta
From: Riverside, California
Overall Rating: 4
Dining at Resort: 5
Sleeping Room: 5
Pool Area: 4
Beach Area: 4
Friendly Staff: 4
Marival-Resort-8
Remarks:
"Hotel and staff were great. Food was very good. Confused as to why the adult pools didn’t have the swim-up bars, only the pools that allowed kids did! Weird. Only warning: do not fall for the Time-Share scam. They will promise you all kinds of things, none of which is given to you in writing in the end for validity. Go for the free stuff they offer, don’t give more than the couple hours they tell you and enjoy your vacation. I lost a whole day, time not well spent! I will go back, but will not get sucked in to their timeshare." – Amy from Riverside, California

Traveler Review of: Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta
From: Portland, Oregon
Overall Rating: 5
Dining at Resort: 4
Sleeping Room: 5
Pool Area: 5
Beach Area: 3
Friendly Staff: 5
Remarks:
"The resort amenities and staff were amazing. I have never been treated so well and pampered so much. Our concierge, Carlos arranged all of our wonderful excursions. Everything was made easy and enjoyable. To swim with the sea lions AND the dolphins in one vacation trip was a dream come true. The best part was that they were included PLUS even more excursions like zip lines, sailing cruises and more for no extra cost! The suite we stayed in was an incredible 1,600 sq ft of luxury. I didn’t want to come home! All of the staff were so genuinely nice, thoughtful, funny, entertaining and kind. True customer service at a level you have never experienced! The food was delicious, diverse and fresh. I wanted for nothing at Marival. All my needs were met and I didn’t even have to think about asking for anything. Someone was always there taking care of me. I plan to go again and stay twice as long as last time." – Sarah from Portland, Oregon

Traveler Review of: Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta
From: Portland, Oregon
Overall Rating: 5
Dining at Resort: 5
Sleeping Room: 5
Pool Area: 5
Beach Area: 5
Friendly Staff: 5
Remarks:
"My Mother, my friend, my boyfriend and I left Marival today and it was very hard to leave. We had such a great experience. The concierge, Carlos was fantastic and so was Reggie, both were so friendly and helpful. They made sure our all of our activities in and around town were taken care of. If you have a chance to, go ask Carlos to set you up with the Sea Lion excursion. We did both the dolphin and the sea lion and enjoyed the sea lion excursion the best. I highly recommend it. The rooms were beautiful! Very spacious, and very comfortable with modern decor. I was worried about the bed being a little firm but I slept like a baby and was so satisfied with the sleep we got. We had housekeeping twice a day, which is another reason why it was so hard to leave. Full Kitchens, 2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, flat screen T.V.s in each bedroom, washer/dryer, huge balcony with cozy outdoor furniture, I-pod hook up in master bedroom. To top it off we had a beautiful view of the ocean and the pools. The food was excellent, everything we had was made to order and how we wanted it. The wait-staff here was always on top of everything we needed. They were all charming and had great personalities, I have never stayed at a place where each staff member smiled so often. They were cracking jokes with us all the time. We really enjoyed the three restaurants on the residences and wish we had more time to check out the resort where the other restaurants and the night clubs were. There were just so many other things to do we didn’t have enough time. Last night we had such a fun time Insu Sky Lounge, the view and the infinity pool were awesome. Angel and all the other staff working there last night really showed us great time. You guys rocked! I highly recommend this place and I can’t wait to go back. I would like to thank all the staff here for making our vacation so wonderful. Next time we will be staying longer then five days. =)" – Kaala and Andy from Portland, Oregon

Traveler Review of: Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta
From: Calgary, Alberta
Overall Rating: 2
Dining at Resort: 2
Sleeping Room: 1
Pool Area: 3
Beach Area: 4
Friendly Staff: 2
Remarks:
"The Marival Resort holiday was not my best to date. Have been to Mexico 4 times and this was the least favorite spot. Food was great but for the best restaurants you had to stand in line at 7:30 am. Our room was absolutely the noisiest I have ever encountered on any holiday and we did not pay a low fare. We complained about our room and were told nothing could be done. The staff were either really friendly or rude. Not all that nice. It is a resort for the Mom/Dad with kids or really old. Partying was non-existent and the music in the hotel bar very poor. The disco sucked. Also got bad bites when I sat down on the beach but have heard this is common in PV. The worst thing was that 2 parties of friends staying in Puerto Vallarta tried to contact us, even came to the Marival and left a message and we never received any contact from them. On a holiday it is important that contact is available. what happened?" – Robin from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Traveler Review of: Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta
From: Chicago, Illinois
Overall Rating: 5
Dining at Resort: 5
Sleeping Room: 4
Pool Area: 5
Beach Area: 5
Friendly Staff: 5
Remarks:
"This was a great family vacation. The all-inclusive Marival Resort was great. The food was awesome, great variety and selection. There was nightly entertainment for children and adults. The pools were great and the kids club was very helpful. Definitely will visit here again, highly recommend to any family looking for an all inclusive resort." – Dominic from Chicago, Illinois

Traveler Review of: Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta
From: Streamwood, Illinois
Overall Rating: 5
Dining at Resort: 5
Sleeping Room: 5
Pool Area: 5
Beach Area: 5
Friendly Staff: 5
Marival-Resort-6
Remarks:
"My Family and I stayed in Puerto Vallarta before but this was the first time that we decide to stay in Nuevo Vallarta. When we first arrived and checked in, we got to our room and it was not what we had requested and paid for. I let management know about it but we were tired and and stayed in our room. The next day they put us in a 2-bedroom suite. From there, our days in heaven have just begun. The concierge Alonso made reservations for us to eat in all the restaurants where the food was unreal. Especially LAS PALOMAS where Christian, our server went overboard to please us, and at the end he top it with a flaming Mexican coffee, amazing. That night my wife and I talk about buying a time-share apartment the next day we talk with EVELYN. She was so professional and answered every question that we had, she was also great. The last day Carmen, our pool-side bartender topped it with the best drinks we ever had. We had such a great time, that we are planning to go back in July of this year. Marival keep up the good work and for the people that have bad reviews maybe they stayed in another hotel not in Marival Resorts Nuevo Vallarta. See you in July guys. The Galvan Family." – Victor from Streamwood, Illinois

Traveler Review of: Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta
From: Springfield, Illinois
Overall Rating: 2
Dining at Resort: 2
Sleeping Room: 2
Pool Area: 1
Beach Area: 3
Friendly Staff: 1
Marival-Resort-7
Remarks:
"Horrible service, disgusting property. I got married here and LOVED this place 5 years ago! Now it has been severely neglected and is borderline 2-star. The food and service is completely different from when the hotel was ranked. There are bed bugs and the pools are slimy. The waitstaff is lazy and could care less. All self-service. The beach is still ok, but the water sports team goes out from 9-11am, then comes back and puts out the red flag every day to avoid having to rent you anything. We went to Walmart and bought our own boards to use. There is constant pestering on the beach from sales people. I am embarrassed that I ever told anyone to go here; Horrified that anyone would associate me with this location and so disappointed because this was supposed to be the place we would go back to. NEVER again. Wasted vacation." – Theresa from Springfield, Illinois

Traveler Review of: Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta
From: Mission, B.C.
Overall Rating: 5
Dining at Resort: 5
Sleeping Room: 5
Pool Area: 5
Beach Area: 5
Friendly Staff: 5
Marival-Resort-5
Remarks:
"Completely blown away by all the great food, the service, especially Maria the concierge she took care of us for anything we needed, and we would also like to mention Yolanda Quintero for booking our restaurant reservations she was very friendly and helpful. The staff are unbelievable at the resort, the resort was spotless. The staff were constantly maintaining the resort. The food was out of this world. We enjoyed every meal. We took our two kids they were nine and thirteen and they loved it. We played mini golf, swam , went boogie boarding, and took out the bikes. We enjoyed walking the beach each day. We got pictures taken by Papa Razzi Mike did a great job taking our family pictures by the sunset. We recommend this hotel to any family with children or just couples. This is paradise. We will go back now every two years. We enjoyed every minute of or vacation, we cant wait to go back!" – Bulvindar from Mission, British Columbia, Canada

Traveler Review of: Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta
From: Tampa, Florida
Overall Rating: 1
Dining at Resort: 2
Sleeping Room: 3
Pool Area: 4
Beach Area: 4
Friendly Staff: 1
Remarks:
"Do not get tricked by their Timeshare/Point System gimmicks. The sales people will tell you whatever to make you feel like you are getting a good deal. First, the reference about it being a tax deduction is completely false and if you decide to do it and get audited, you will be fined. More importantly, they tell you that you will get priority for room availability as a Gold member. That is false. They only provide rooms when there is lower cost inventory available. During peak times, they will simply tell you the room is not available. While I will admit that the hotel is nice (have been there 3 times), I want to provide honest warning to those who can avoid making the mistake in thinking their Gold membership program will be worth the upfront investment. It is NOT and you can get the same deals by planning trips in advance and booking through Expedia/orbitz/other travel sites." – Jon from Tampa, Floida

Traveler Review of: Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta
From: Sun City, Arizona
Overall Rating: 4
Dining at Resort: 5
Sleeping Room: 3
Pool Area: 5
Beach Area: 5
Friendly Staff: 4
Remarks:
"Our first three nights, the hallway noise was very disrupting. At 3am I went to desk and complained. The next day I moved to another room and slept like a baby For 4 more nights. The rooms did have a musty smell but I must have gotten use to it for it didn’t really keep me awake. Everything else was exceptional. But we went on their Time-Share special. After 3-hours I told the 3 guys that I did not want to be rude but the unnecessary pressure was going to make us up and leave. They didn’t stop so we up and left! The 5 nights all-inclusive was definitely worth it." – Dan and Bev from Sun City, Arizona

Traveler Review of: Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta
From: Arcadia, Iowa
Overall Rating: 5
Dining at Resort: 4
Sleeping Room: 5
Pool Area: 5
Beach Area: 5
Friendly Staff: 5
Marival-Resort-4
Remarks:
"We stayed at the Marival with 3 kids – our 21 yr. old son and his girlfriend and our 17 yr. old daughter and we had the time of our lives. The room was great! Very roomy – 2 bedrooms with 3 baths. Very clean. We arrived on a Sunday and the resort was busy on Sunday and Monday, but the rest of the week was very quiet. No problem getting a chair poolside or on the beach. The staff was very friendly and always willing to help. The staff at the pools were very good at keeping people entertained. They liked to involve you in beach volleyball, bartending classes, dance lessons, etc. The food wasn’t too bad. Lots of selection. We got to try many things that we wouldn’t normally try. We knew what to expect after being to Riviera Maya in 2009. The kids went zip-lining and said it was the most exhilarating experience they ever had. I would highly recommend this resort. Would definitely stay here again!" – Julie from Arcadia, Iowa

Traveler Review of: Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta
From: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Overall Rating: 4
Dining at Resort: 3
Sleeping Room: 3
Pool Area: 4
Beach Area: 4
Friendly Staff: 3
Remarks:
"I love parts of the hotel, but cleanliness is a issue. Many glasses from the previous night are still out by the pool the next morning. Some restaurants are closed because Business is slow. The cleaning staff was lazy. Room was clean and nice, but outside needed attention. Don’t buy into the Time-Share. We bought-in and 3 months after, we found that at the bottom of all addendums is a clause, prices subject to change with NO NOTICE. They will not even send you a letter telling you of changes. When you add the Yearly Maintenance Fee and room charges, the savings is minimal and you are comitted to them each year. The fact you can sell your points is misleading and they will not put that in the contract. 20m points each year only equals 400, not the 1,200 to 1,500 they tell you at the sales pitch. You have to return to Marivel. Look at the fine print and compare before you agree to a Time-Share contract." – Dave from Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Traveler Review of: Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta
From: New Castle, Indiana
Overall Rating: 5
Dining at Resort: 5
Sleeping Room: 5
Pool Area: 5
Beach Area: 5
Friendly Staff: 5
Marival-Resort-3
Remarks:
"We have been to Marival Resorts three (3) times and are planning on returning in February. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I read what the individual from Wisconsin wrote about mold, unfriendliness, and unsanitary conditions at Marival. Sick?? I may have been sick from eating too much but that is the only way. Maybe we’ve been lucky but I don’t believe so….there have never been any crowded beach chairs or pool chairs and always have managed to sit just about where ever we wanted to. The staff are of the utmost friendliest we have ever been too and we are ALSO seasoned travelers!! Carlos, Alan, Charls, Magueil, and Saul just to name a few are there to serve you along with anyone that you pass that works at Marival – including the maids that clean your room – if they were unsanitary – maybe you shouldn’t have been watching them so close and went out and enjoyed yourself! It sounds like to me that you are very hard to satisfy. We LOVE Marival sooo much that we bought, and will continue to use our weeks and enjoy our family of friends at Marival Resort and Suites! So to you that are reading the resort reviews please look at ALL the good that people had to say and then you be the judge when you have your visit to Marival! Well see you in February 2011 for our anniversary! Thanks!" – Connie from New Castle, Indiana

Traveler Review of: Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta
From: Denver, Colorado
Overall Rating: 4
Dining at Resort: 4
Sleeping Room: 4
Pool Area: 4
Beach Area: 4
Friendly Staff: 5
Remarks:
"We went with our entire family, five kids and five adults. This is one of my favorite vacations, because our kids had such an amazing experience! I have nothing but rave reviews for Carlos, Saul, Charls, Miriam! This team is so outing, friendly, helpful, and involved our entire family in having the time of our life! We kept busy all morning wth all type of activiites that we all did together! This team was so sweet with all our kids, they will never forget them, and thats vacations are all about is the memories! The entire resort of empolyees made this an experience of a lifetime and learning experience for our young children!" – Krista from Denver, Colorado

Traveler Review of: Marival Resort Nuevo Vallarta
From: Yorba Linda, CA
Overall Rating: 5
Dining at Resort: 5
Sleeping Room: 5
Pool Area: 5
Beach Area: 5
Friendly Staff: 5
Marival-Resort-2
Remarks:
"Our stay at Marival Residences and World Spa was absolutely wonderful. From the moment we arrived we were treated like Royalty. I won’t even try to describe our experience as it is just too amazing to put into words. However I will offer this; It is an understatement to call our accomodations a ROOM, it is without a doubt a RESIDENCE. I say this because my house is about 200 sq ft smaller. The included excursions are absolutly top notch. The food and service is better than we have ever experienced. Above all, it is not what you expect to be provided that will impress you….. It’s what you DON’T expect that will knock your socks off. Absolutely the best vacation we have ever taken. We do not recommend…we INSIST you stay with Marival Residences and World Spa." – Matt & Sherrie from Yorba Linda, California

Review Resorts Review Resorts (256 Posts)

Traveler Posted Reviews of Hawaii Hotels & Mexico Resorts, Las Vegas Hotels, Club Med Resorts, Day Spas, RV Camping Resorts & Clothing Optional Resorts


Puerto Vallarta
Review Resorts
@ReviewResorts

Traveler Posted Reviews of Hawaii Hotels & Mexico Resorts, Las Vegas Hotels, Club Med Resorts, Day Spas, RV Camping Resorts & Clothing Optional Resorts

More in Puerto Vallarta

Villa-del-Palmar-Vallarta

Villa Del Palmar Puerto Vallarta

Review ResortsJune 2, 2015
Velas-Vallarta-Resort

Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit

Review ResortsJune 2, 2015
Samba-Vallarta-Resort

Samba Vallarta

Review ResortsJune 2, 2015