Resort Hotel Reviews

Cancun Hotels

Royal Solaris Cancun

Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun All-Inclusive Resort

lIGHTBOX

Review Resorts
NEWSLETTER

First Name:
Email:

Verify Email:

State:


We Do Not Share E-mails Privacy

Post a Mexico Resort Review

Add Your Resort
Royal Solaris Cancun Resort Reviews

Royal Solaris Cancun

Blvd Kukulkan - Km. 20.5
Cancun, Q.Roo MX, 77500 MX
Phone: +1-52-998-885-8400
Website: www.HotelesSolaris.com
Rating: 4 Star
Rooms: 500
Floors: 9
Restaurants: 8
Category: All-Inclusive
Pools: 4
Fitness Center: Yes
Day Spa: Yes
Here's our Royal Solaris Cancun Review

The Royal Solaris Cancun is an all-inclusive Beach Front Resort in Cancun. Good for families or couples looking for an all-inclusive vacation in Cancun. This is one of the largest all-inclusive resorts in Cancun. The pool area can get pretty busy at times, but is a nice place to hang and relanx. The white-sand beach is a great place for sunbathing. The Royal Solaris always seems to have something going on. Whether participating in different contests, games or sports, you won't be bored.

Facilities:
500 Rooms, Pools, Activities Pool, Beachfront Jacuzzis, Lounge, Chair & Beach Towel Service, 8 Restaurants (wide selection, buffet and a la carte), 6 Bars, Lighted Tennis Courts, Volleyball, Gym, Sports Bar w/pool table, Big screen TV, Darts, Basketball, Mini golf. Kid's/Teen's Club, Safe deposit boxes.

Stayed at the Royal Solaris Cancun ?
Post a Review of your Favorite Cancun Resort

Traveler Posted: Royal Solaris Cancun Review
Reviewed By: Dina
From: New York City, NY
Trip Date: April, 2012
Overall Rating:  
Dining at Resort:  
Sleeping Room:  
Pool Area:  
Beach Area:  
Friendly Staff:  
Remarks:
"Horrible food, no entertainment and walked in on house-keeping going through my clothing and dresser drawers. Shouldn't be called a resort." - Dina from New York City, New York


Stayed at the Royal Solaris Cancun ?
Post a Review of your Favorite Cancun Resort

Go USA T-Shirt
Traveler Posted: Royal Solaris Cancun Review
Reviewed By: Holly
From: Columbus, Ohio
Trip Date: January, 2011
Overall Rating:  
Dining at Resort:  
Sleeping Room:  
Pool Area:  
Beach Area:  
Friendly Staff:  
Remarks:
"We thought the resort was very clean and the staff was AMAZING. We have a 22 month old baby who got a severe ear infection, high fever, congestion and the doctor came to our room pronto! He was very helpful really set our minds at easy being so far from home. Every night he called to check on our son really touched us (thank you). The beach was clean. Every night we took our son a walk along the beach and it never failed they were out along the beach cleaning and organizing the chairs for the next day. The only thing I wasnt crazy about was the dinners, but breakfast was wonderful and the water area for the kids only who were 11 years or younger. Could use them. Not really toddler friendly." - Holly from Columbus, Ohio


Stayed at the Royal Solaris Cancun ?
Post a Review of your Favorite Cancun Resort

Traveler Posted: Royal Solaris Cancun Review
Reviewed By: Eriny
From: Parlin, New Jersey
Trip Date: January, 2011
Overall Rating:  
Dining at Resort:  
Sleeping Room:  
Pool Area:  
Beach Area:  
Friendly Staff:  
Remarks:
"Regarding my stay @ Royal Solaris. We booked 2 Deluxe Lagoon View All-inclusive rooms at the Royal. When we arrived on 1/13/2011 we were booked into 2 rooms @ Royal Caribe with no view (looking at the back of another building) various complaints were reported about various issues during our stay without solutions. Issues were: 1) Broken door Lock reported to front desk on arrival date was never fixed until 1/16/11, meanwhile, * door was found open after returning from dinner 1/14/11..*a male guest unlocked and opened our room with his own key while we were getting dressed to go to dinner on 1/16/11. 2) Day of arrival we contacted front desk to notify them that our 2 mini bars was were not working and were empty, we were told that because we are booked through "Bookit" we are not entitled to anything other than water and we are to call front desk to request water when needed, that they will not just refill us with water on daily basis. 3) Upon arrival we reported strong mold and sewer smell in one of our rooms, complaint was neglected and all 4 of us had to sleep in one room to avoid exposure to smell after my 17 year old niece got violently sick from smell Saturday 1/15/11 4) Requested to speak with GM on Saturday 1/15/11 I was redirected to Estaban. I explained my complaints to him and asked if I needed to submit them in writing but he said "no, I will write a report and will submit it on your behalf" 5) Monday 1/17/11 requested a copy of our complaint, but were denied by receptionist Sidny, and when I asked her to give me her full name she threw a paper and a pen @me and said "you write it" my answer to that was "you dont have to be Bitchy about it I will write it" and she said "No, you are the B...." I then requested to speak with GM, but was denied by Estaban telling me that he cannot give me GM name or number." - Eriny from Parlin, New Jersey


Stayed at the Royal Solaris Cancun ?
Post a Review of your Favorite Cancun Resort

Traveler Posted: Royal Solaris Cancun Review
Reviewed By: Steve
From: St. Louis, Missouri
Trip Date: November, 2010
Overall Rating:  
Dining at Resort:  
Sleeping Room:  
Pool Area:  
Beach Area:  
Friendly Staff:  
Remarks:
"Definitely tip the pool bar guys right when you get there.. Give them 5 or 10 USD. They will take care of you the rest of your stay. It was under construction when we were there, so we only had 2 dinner options. Food was good, drinks good. I would not stay here again but you get what you pay for. I would shell out the extra couple hundred for a more up-to-date hotel. Also stay closer to "downtown" Cancun." - Steve from St. Louis, Missouri


Stayed at the Royal Solaris Cancun ?
Post a Review of your Favorite Cancun Resort

Traveler Posted: Royal Solaris Cancun Review
Reviewed By: Lisa
From: Chicago, IL.
Trip Date: Oct, 2010
Overall Rating:  
Dining at Resort:  
Sleeping Room:  
Pool Area:  
Beach Area:  
Friendly Staff:  
Remarks:
"Royal Solaris is okay. My husband and I have been there twice and we are bringing our family in Jan. We have brought friends there with us. We like the pool staff, the bar staff but the front desk staff are not friendly at all. The drinks are majorly watered down. The food is okay. We love the view and walking on the beach. We find it not to expensive to go there, so I guess you get what you pay for. I figure the rooms are clean and I don't go home hungry. We have met a lot of nice people, usually at the bar by the pool. There are much nicer hotels to stay at." - Lisa from Chicago, Illinois


Stayed at the Royal Solaris Cancun ?
Post a Review of your Favorite Cancun Resort

Traveler Posted: Royal Solaris Cancun Review
Reviewed By: Mae
From: Allendale, N.J.
Trip Date: August, 2010
Overall Rating:  
Dining at Resort:  
Sleeping Room:  
Pool Area:  
Beach Area:  
Friendly Staff:  
Remarks:
"I was extremely disappointed with the Royal Solaris. First of all, the hotel has a very musky smell. Second, within a few hours of being there and sitting by the kids pool with my children and I witnessed a very drunk woman vomiting in the kids pool. I had to inform three hotel workers before anything was done. To make it worse, the staff did not ask the guest to get out of the pool. They simply started to skim the vomit out of the pool. I complained with the front desk and when I asked them to give me the general manager's name they refused to give me this information. I was so disgusted by the event and how the staff reacted to this situation, I asked to move to the GR Solaris. I did but had to pay for the upgrade." - Mae from Allendale, N.J.


Stayed at the Royal Solaris Cancun ?
Post a Review of your Favorite Cancun Resort

Traveler Posted: Royal Solaris Cancun Review
Reviewed By: Pam
From: Fort Worth, Texas
Trip Date: June, 2010
Overall Rating:  
Dining at Resort:  
Sleeping Room:  
Pool Area:  
Beach Area:  
Friendly Staff:  
Remarks:
"The resort seems very old and in need of updating. The staff very pleasant and friendly. The food is minimal with not as many restaurants available as in resort bio. The rooms smelled as if they were musty or damp from humidity. The pool area was nice and activities at poolside were fun and had guest involved. They really need to work on the food with variety. It just seemed cheap!! The breakfast buffet was decent with an area they would make omelets. The snack bars at the pool served food for children, the burgers were ok but no salads, fresh fruit sandwiches or soup for a lighter fare. I would recommend looking at other hotels for the price. Spend a little more for an upgrade." - Pam from Fort Worth, Texas


Stayed at the Royal Solaris Cancun ?
Post a Review of your Favorite Cancun Resort

Traveler Posted: Royal Solaris Cancun Review
Reviewed By: Chuck 'n Sue
From: Madison, Wisconsin
Trip Date: Feb, 2010
Overall Rating:  
Dining at Resort:  
Sleeping Room:  
Pool Area:  
Beach Area:  
Friendly Staff:  
Remarks:
"Overall a good experience! The only downer was the drinks seemed watered down, you had to order a double to get any reasonable amount of alcohol. The beer probably Corona lite!. However, the specialty restaurants gave you a decent drink with dinner. The lagoon side on 8th floor was OK, but if you sleep with the windows open youll hear road-noise in the morning. I woudn't stay any lower than the 8th floor. The staff was EXCELLENT! Food was OK, you could always find something youd enjoy, Im not a buffet fan. American Airlines was our carrier...out of six flights, only one was on-time!" - Chuck 'n Sue from Madison, Wisconsin


Stayed at the Royal Solaris Cancun ?
Post a Review of your Favorite Cancun Resort

Traveler Posted: Royal Solaris Cancun Review
Reviewed By: Heidi
From: Pembroke, Canada
Trip Date: Jan, 2010
Overall Rating:  
Dining at Resort:  
Sleeping Room:  
Pool Area:  
Beach Area:  
Friendly Staff:  
Remarks:
"Went for 2 weeks to Royal Solaris. Hotel was great..food was excellent with lots to choose from. We were in both buildings, changed to the royal area that is where everything is. Had a fridge with water pop and beer filled it up everyday. Had bathrobes and slippers. Staff was very friendly.shows were also good. Bus to go downtown plazas were right outside the resort cheap to go on 15 Pesos one way = to 60 cents. would go back. I would tell people to go to this resort. Had a wonderful time plus the weather was great." - Heidi from Pembroke, Ontario, Canada


Stayed at the Royal Solaris Cancun ?
Post a Review of your Favorite Cancun Resort

Traveler Posted: Royal Solaris Cancun Review
Reviewed By: Pat
From: Winnipeg, Canada
Trip Date: Feb, 2009
Overall Rating:  
Dining at Resort:  
Sleeping Room:  
Pool Area:  
Beach Area:  
Friendly Staff:  
Royal Solaris Cancun
"Great Shows" - Pat from Winnipeg, Canada

Remarks:
"We stayed via a time-share exchange and were upgraded to the Gr. Solaris vs Solaris Villas, don't know why but understand we were fortunate. Received Premier service. Noisy first room near elevator. Quickly rectified! The resort grew on us over the first few days, staff impressed us, food and entertainment shows were hi quality. Snack food sometimes were dry from heating, messy but never a food shortage. Great breakfast selections, pastries, omelettes/eggs customized, fruits. Buffet hot lunch had frequent seafood choices, fresh fish, shrimp, squid but our All-Inclusive rate costly! We found the main pool area noisy daily from 10 - 6, but hid at the separate adult only pool mostly, if chairs available or on the beach to retreat. Weren't pressured for time-share presentation at all. Each guest exper.ience varies. Clean rooms, great room service, lots of info provided as to dining choices, where to reserve if required, etc. Beach would be OK+ but we had windy days most of the week, big waves, red flags. Resort geared to younger crowd, bar trips nightly from resort to Cancun hotspots. Didn't see alot of families/children." - Pat from Winnipeg, Canada


Stayed at the Royal Solaris Cancun ?
Post a Review of your Favorite Cancun Resort

Traveler Posted: Royal Solaris Cancun Review
Reviewed By: Mary
From: Ontario, Canada
Trip Date: Dec, 2008
Overall Rating:  
Dining at Resort:  
Sleeping Room:  
Pool Area:  
Beach Area:  
Friendly Staff:  
Remarks:
"The Caribe Tower room was very nice..but had some problems. Door lock broke, water dripped from air conditioner, but the room cleaner was fantastic in helping get any problem solved right away. Can't say the same for the front desk staff. Food was amazing, especially at the ala carte restaurants. The beach was a little dirty, but the whole resort was very, very clean. The staff were very helpful, hard working and very pleasant. No bugs, no smells. The only big annoyance was some of the guests from Quebec, very loud, very demanding and not very nice to the staff." - Mary from Ontario, Canada


Stayed at the Royal Solaris Cancun ?
Post a Review of your Favorite Cancun Resort

Traveler Posted: Royal Solaris Cancun Review
Reviewed By: Carmen
From: Reston, Virginia
Trip Date: August, 2008
Overall Rating:  
Dining at Resort:  
Sleeping Room:  
Pool Area:  
Beach Area:  
Friendly Staff:  
Royal Solaris Cancun
"Cockroaches in the room."
Carmen from Reston, Virginia

Remarks:
"The hotel looks nice and it appears to be very clean. However, it is infested with cockroaches and the swimming pool has a sewage smell!!! We saw the 1.5 inch cockroaches when we arrived the first evening in the main tower, near the employee service area. The very first morning I saw one 1.5 inch cockroach in my room running from the bathroom to the closet where my clothes and luggage were located. I jumped out of the bed and hit it with a slipper. I placed a piece of soap near it to show the size of the bug which has the logo of the hotel and I took a picture (posted above). I decided there was no way I would stay in this hotel; I do not need these bugs around me, nor in my bags to come home with me. I contacted the front desk and requested to talk to the hotel manager. They refused, stating that the hotel manager is too busy to talk to me. The front desk offered to change my room, and upgrade it to an ocean-view room. I told them that their hotel is infested and that I needed to be transferred to their other property the GR Royal Solaris. The front desk told me that they never had any complaints regarding cockroaches. I insisted that since I've seen two in the first two days, I find it hard to believe they are not aware of the problem, and that I needed to move to the other hotel. I waited for 4 hours to be contacted by a hotel manager and they refused to talk to me. The front desk insisted that if I want to move to the GR Royal Solaris I would have to come to the front desk and pay more. I contacted Orbitz and explained the cockroach infestation and that I needed to go to another hotel. They listened very politely but did absolutely nothing to help. I ended up paying more to move to the GR Royal Solaris with my family. While I was at the front desk paying for the transfer, my hotel room was searched and the "evidence" removed in a hurry by the hotel employees. The waste baskets were overturned, things in the room were moved around until the bug was found and removed before I returned to my room in spite of the fact that I had the "do not disturb" sign on the door. I understood then why the front desk personnel were laughing at me saying that I have no proof. Little did they know I already took the picture before leaving the room. When we were leaving, a front desk employee smiled and admitted that yes, they fumigate in one place and the cockroaches run in all other directions.

GR Royal Solaris was clean. I did not see any bugs. The pool did not smell of sewage and the food was O.K. The entertaining team was fantastic and we all ended up having a good time. I feel however that I was forced into paying more in order to have a room without disgusting insects and I wasted two precious days of vacation unpacking, packing, being mistreated by the hotel management, moved to another hotel, waited in line to check-in again, get new rooms with bad view, have to request to change it was very bad management. I will not return to a Royal Solaris property anywhere, anytime." - Carmen from Reston, Virgina



Stayed at the Royal Solaris Cancun ?
Post a Review of your Favorite Cancun Resort

Traveler Posted: Royal Solaris Cancun Review
Reviewed By: Tiffany
From: Landing, New Jersey
Trip Date: June, 2008
Overall Rating:  
Dining at Resort:  
Sleeping Room:  
Pool Area:  
Beach Area:  
Friendly Staff:  
Remarks:
"I would not stay at this resort again. The food was not good. My whole family's stomach hurt all week. The first room I receive smelled of mold and mildew. I got another room and it was better. Lunch and breakfast were ok. The restaurants were alright. Drinks were good. The snack at 11:30pm was good. Enternatiment needs some work. Please pick somewhere else to stay. Trust me it is not 3 1/2 star. I would rate a two. The kids club was cute. They are huge rock in water at the beach. The elevators did not work. I hope my review helps someone not to choose this hotel." - Tiffany from Landing, New Jersey


Stayed at the Royal Solaris Cancun ?
Post a Review of your Favorite Cancun Resort

Traveler Posted: Royal Solaris Cancun Review
Reviewed By: Barry
From: Moberly, Missouri
Trip Date: June, 2008
Overall Rating:  
Dining at Resort:  
Sleeping Room:  
Pool Area:  
Beach Area:  
Friendly Staff:  
Remarks:
"I have no idea what people are complaning about. I have stayed in several resorts in Mexico and this one is by far the best. The service was wonderful. If you want American food, then stay in America. The food here was very good. We ate at all the restruants and the food and the service were top notch. The rooms were clean, plenty of water preasure and never any problems with the tollets. We never had a problem getting a lounge by the pool, there were always a few open all the time. The bartenders were great, as well as the servers. The place smelled fresh and clean. Check-in and out was the best part. It has always taken from 3 to 5 hours to get our rooms at any other place we stayed. At Royal Solaris we arrived at 1pm and our rooms were ready and upon check-out we did a precheck-out and all were quicker then checking into a motel here in the United States. Lets face it people, when you go to Mexico don't expect things to be like they are in the United States. If that is what you are looking for, just stay home." - Barry from Moberly, Maryland


Stayed at the Royal Solaris Cancun ?
Post a Review of your Favorite Cancun Resort

Traveler Posted: Royal Solaris Cancun Review
Reviewed By: Joseph
From: La Plata, Maryland
Trip Date: May, 2008
Overall Rating:  
Dining at Resort:  
Sleeping Room:  
Pool Area:  
Beach Area:  
Friendly Staff:  
Remarks:
"Overall, this hotel probably deserves two stars, but there were three events in one week that I found inexcusable. 1. My wife slipped on a wet stairway. She wrenched her shoulder, bruised her back, and jammed her toe. We reported this to the front desk promptly. They said management would get in touch with us. They did not follow-up in any way whatsoever. 2. There was a passageway between our unit and the one next door which is supposed to be locked. At about 11:00 pm, a young boy from next door opened the doors and started to come into our room. Fortunately, we were there. I immediately reported this to the front desk. They put me on the phone with a manager who said someone would come up to investigate. Again, there was no follow-up at all. 3. Our second evening there, my wife's daughters came by our hotel. They were staying at the Belair, two properties away and a really lovely hotel. We were going out to dinner. The Royal Solaris would not let the girls come up to our room. I went down to the desk and explained that they were my step-daughters. They told me that before they could come upstairs for even ten minutes they would have to have guest passes at a cost of $70.00 each." - Joseph from La Plata, Maryland


Stayed at the Royal Solaris Cancun ?
Post a Review of your Favorite Cancun Resort

Traveler Posted: Royal Solaris Cancun Review
Reviewed By: Dawn
From: Lansdowne, PA
Trip Date: May, 2008
Overall Rating:  
Dining at Resort:  
Sleeping Room:  
Pool Area:  
Beach Area:  
Friendly Staff:  
Remarks:
"My husband took me to Cancun for my birthday from May 25-30, 2008. We stayed at the Royal Solaris all-inclusive resort. Our first impression of the resort was good. The reception area was very pleasing to the eye and the staff seemed to be on point, however when we got to our room things went down-hill. The room smelled muggy and unclean, the patio furniture was disgustingly dirty and missing cushions, there was NO bath tub, only a shower that was not enclosed and let water get all over the floor. The elevators did not work the whole time we were there. The entertainment was boring and worst of all the food was terrible. Especially the desserts. We spent 60% of our days out on the town, shopping and dining. We visited two other hotels for dinner that friends we made invited us to and they were far better than the Royal Solaris. OK...youve been warned." - Dawn from Lansdowne, Penn.


Stayed at the Royal Solaris Cancun ?
Post a Review of your Favorite Cancun Resort

Traveler Posted: Royal Solaris Cancun Review
Reviewed By: A.M.
From: Paramus, New Jersey
Trip Date: April, 2008
Overall Rating:  
Dining at Resort:  
Sleeping Room:  
Pool Area:  
Beach Area:  
Friendly Staff:  
Remarks:
"We just got back from 6 nights and 7 days at the Royal Solaris Cancun. After reading many reviews, we decided to try it. We booked directly through the Solaris and received a great deal but we needed to go to a 90 minute vacation club presentation (more about that later). Overall we probably won't go back. There are much nicer places in Cancun with great deals. Everything at the Royal Solaris is "just ok."

Hotel Room - Rooms were average. You pay extra for an Ocean View. It is pretty not necessarily worth the money. The opposite side of the hotel overlooks the large lagoon which is nice also (you get the sunset on this side). All the rooms have sliding opening windows. Nice feature. Some of the rooms on the corners and the front have balconies. Nice but not worth the money. - Beds are either double or king. Very comfortable. - Bathroom is ok with a shower stall, single sink, and toilet. Nothing thrilling. The shower curtain kept coming out of the shower resulting in water getting on the floor. - The toilet overflowed once. Not the best flushing in these toilets. - The rooms have no carpeting and are completely tiled. Not bad but you really need something on your feet to walk around since the floor gets cold. Plus if youre wet, you will slip. - There are three drawers and two night stand drawers to put clothes in. - Closet has two sides, one with shelves and one with hangers. If you have a lot of clothes to hang up, bring hangers. - There is a safe but it is $1 per day charge. You need to the lock at the front desk. Do this at check in to save you time. Room Problems: - Toilet overflowed - Rooms are not quiet. You hear everything. - Only 10 English speaking TV channels

Hotel Surroundings and Pool - Now here is the biggest complaint: Chairs at the pool are near impossible to get. Chairs under umbrellas (which are really needed with the hot sun) are gone by 7am. Mostly all chairs are gone by 7:30am. People starting saving spots at 6am (not joking). Even though the hotel has a policy against this, it is not enforced. So everyone is forced to do it. - Pool itself - There are two large pools, the quiet pool and main pool. The main pool has a couple of sections, one with a volleyball net. The part with the pool bar is shallow. The pool is really not meant for swimming but for hanging out in. Kids have fun in the pool. No part of the main pool is above 3ft. THERE is one set of stairs to get into the pool and these are concrete and on the farthest end of the pool. Otherwise you are climbing in and out. There are no stairs into the section with the volleyball net. We did a lot of climbing in and out. Pool is very clean and well maintained. Pool bar was never crowded.

Activities - The staff does activities from 10am to about 2pm almost non-stop. Most are for adults but some are for kids (not many). The activities can be loud but that is to be expected. Didn't bother us. Everyday at 11am is Tequila volleyball.

Tables at the pool - There a couple of tables and chairs you can eat at during the day. It is under the bar area in the shade. This is nice. BUT, often taken by people for hours although the policy is these are for eating only and you no more than an hour. The snack bar is right by the tables which is nice but when there arent tables available, you need to find somewhere else to eat. This stinks but what can you do. The snack bar is open at 11:30am daily and is located outside right by the pool bar. There is always appetizer stuff and hamburgers and hot dogs. Nachos and Cheese, Fruit, Pizza, a hero type sandwich. Not bad food but not great. Avg quality.

Staff - Most if not all of the staff were excellent. Some were not as responsive as others but I think that was because they didn't understand enough English. Surprisingly, the front desk people were the least friendly of the staff. There are waiters at the pool who will bring you drinks, included in your stay, and this is nice. They were excellent. The guys at the pool bar were great as well. Overall, the staff was great. -

Tipping - Everyone likes to be tipped. We found that the more often you tipped the same people, the better your service (like the waiters at the pool bar). A couple of dollars go long way. And honestly, we didn't mind because they appreciated it and took care of you. Not that you wouldn't get good service if you didn't tip, but it helps. And the staff does work hard. Singles up to Fives are fine.

Beach - Water Excellent. Clear, clean, and warm. No sea growth. A couple of rocks to look for getting in and out of the water but no big deal. Sand is typical island sand, nice.

Beach Chairs - Again, the chairs under the huts and under the wooden structures are gone early. The huts go first than the others. You will have no problem getting a chair on the beach in sun. But the sun is really hot and the shade is nice.

Waiters - There are waiters who will bring you drinks on the beach. This is excellent. Food and Drink Overall the food was ok. Not the best, but not the worst. We've had much better but then again, this isn't a top shelf place. Breakfast was the best, lunch and dinner was just ok. Don't expect much and you won't be disappointed. Now I must be fair and tell you that 3 of part members where sick for most of the week from the food. We don't know why but it happened.

Breakfast - Large buffet. omelet station, waffle, pancake, and French toast station, and a smoothie station. Plus fresh fruit, muffins, a variety of meats and potatoes, cereals and danishes. There was never a wait for a table. But the lines for the omelets and waffles were long.

Lunch - This was ok. We ate mostly by the pool so our lunches were burgers and hotdogs and other munchies. We tried the buffet lunch in the outside restaurant near the pool. It was ok, nothing special. But nice to eat out of the sun.

Dinners were ok. Nothing special even in the nice restaurants. We ate twice in the buffet. The first night we left hungry. The second was Italian night so the food was good. Best way to compare, the Olive Garden has better food than this. We also ate twice at there Italian restaurant which was good. We found the food to be the best here. We can recommend this place. Marco Polo, the other restaurant, we didnt get too because the menu had nothing our kids would eat.

Drinks on the other hand are excellent. No problems here. Top shelf brand name liquor, frozen drinks galore, and all the Mexican water you want (tequila). If you drink, you will get your monies worth.

Vacation Club Sales Presentation - Depending on how you book or if you want a some perks when you get there, you can attend their 90 minute sales presentation. This is for their vacation club. Presentation is about 90 minutes. They kept pretty close to schedule. Typical sales process. First you meet with the sales person who takes you to the Grand Solaris and shows you a room. The back to the Royal Solaris for the sales meeting. Once the sales person gives you the deal and you say no, then the manager comes over. She/he, with your sales person there, negotiates with you. The initial prices for a regular room 60 weeks over 30 years is $36k. For a suite is $56k. But when the manager comes over, things get reduced about $10k to $20k. And the double the weeks to 120. The manager really tries to get things going by adding other incentives. After you say no again, the closer comes over. The closer tries to get you one last time by asking what they can do to buy today. As a final effort, they will offer a 2 week trip to their resort in Cabos for an excellent price. This leaves the door open for them to deal with you and try to sell again when you get to Cabos. The trip is good for 2 years and ours was for four people. I believe this was $3,600.00. Now if you are ready to buy, you can get an excellent deal. - Pressure Not really a pressure sale. You just need to keep saying no. But they will keep going until you get up and leave.

Vacation Participant Clubs - They are part of the RCI and ICE (Cruises) clubs. You need to pay membership fees to be part of ICE but the Solaris will through in a couple of years for you to try.

Nighttime Activities - There really isnt much to do on property at night. Small "sports" bar with two pool tables, a ping pong table, darts, and air hockey. Good for kids. Lobby bar has two singers every night. - We went into town a couple of nights. Lots of chain restaurants so you have plenty of choices. Hope this helped!" - A.M. from Paramus, New Jersey



Stayed at the Royal Solaris Cancun ?
Post a Review of your Favorite Cancun Resort